Archive
Research
History
Attendance Diaries
Artists
Visitors
Music
Books
In Print
Merchandise
 
 
November 2017
M T W T F S S
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 1 2 3
Jazz Heritage Wales Attendance Diaries 2009

Attendance figures in red

Monday 5th January
Women in Jazz Moved to its temporary admin office in Salubrious Passage.

Sunday 18th January
Allstars Rehearsal (Will continue weekly Sundays throughout the year)

Monday 19th January
Radio Wales/Roy Noble Show JW for 2.30pm live broadcast
1000s

Thursday 22nd January
Interview: The Guardian, Discrimination on Women in Jazz.
250,000

Thursday 29th January
Phil Cope in to Discuss Jazz at Cultural Olympics

Wednesday 4th March
Paul Robeson Seminar Series, Swan Univ. JW Jazzing the Hwyl.
25

Friday 6th March
Allstars at Women Centre Stage, Dylan Thomas Centre
140

Thursday 12th March
Quartet, Allstars and Crossing Oceans Exhibition for Monmouth Women's Festival Wyastone Concert Hall.
200

Friday 20th March
AWMEA (All Wales Multi-Ethnic Association) celebration dinner and entertainment for International Women's Week, Dragon Hotel, Swansea, with
Women in Jazz.
140

Thursday 9th April
Illustrated Talk: Cwmdulais Hist. Soc. 7pm A Nobler Strife, Swansea Abolitionists
26

Friday 24th April
Allstars: Morriston Ladies Choir Annual Festival, Morriston Tabernacle
200

Sunday 3rd & Monday 4th May
Quartet at National Botanical Gardens of Wales Food Fayre
5000 + S4C TV slot

Saturday 9th May
Allstars at Tafarn y Felin, Llanelli for CANCER RESEARCH Charity Event
80 - Sold Out

Wednesday 13th May
Quartet at Southerndown Golf Club
80 - Sold Out

Thursday 18th June
Quartet at Ffos Las Racecourse Opening Event
10,000 - Sold Out + ITV & S4C slots

Saturday 20th June
Allstars at Brynmill Park Summer Festival
1000

Monday 29th June
Women in Jazz move into permanent accommodation at Swansea Metropolitan University as Jazz Heritage Wales

Wednesday 1st July
Arts in Action Exhibition at Guildhall
Collaboration between Arts in Education and Swansea Metropolitan University
Possible future involvement with Jazz Heritage Wales

Sunday 19th July
Crossing Oceans Exhibition at Wavendon Music Festival for Dame Cleo & Sir John Dankworth
4000

Saturday 12th September
JW speaker at Joint Conference Women's Archive of Wales and Llafur.
80

Tuesday 13th October
SMU Senior Leadership Team inaugural meeting at Jazz Heritage Wales.
10

Sunday 18th October
Commencement of Practical Workshops in Swing Band, funded by Arts Council Wales. Every Sunday 2-4pm.
14

Wednesday 21st October
Carolyn Davies, Arts in Education Officer for City & County of Swansea, retirement event. JW + Elissa Evans and Margot Morgan provide the music.
150

Friday 23rd October
Geoff Bullinger, BBC Radio 4 at JHW 11am for interview on The Other Music Hall - Negro Minstrelsy in UK.

Tuesday 3rd November
Prof. John Parkinson & Team to office to discuss BEFORE FREEDOM being performed for Education students.

Wednesday 4th November
Jenna Bailey M.Sc University of Sussex, Brighton, Life History.
Researching Ivy Benson Band and those who passed through its ranks for her book.

Thursday 5th November
Jen and Margot perform three of Dylan Thomas's poems from the Dylan Thomas Jazz Suite for Aeronwy's Memorial Night.
80

Tuesday 10th November
Broadcast BBCRadio 4: The Other Music Hall – Negro Minstrelsy in UK.
1000s

Thursday 26th November
Discussion with student Director Grainne Earley and student Producer Lloyd Evans regarding music for their graduation play by Peter Brook 'The Man Who'
To be performed 17th March 2010.

Thursday 3rd December
Women in Jazz Allstars Swing Band at Dylan Thomas Centre for Medical Foundation Charity Event.
110

Friday 4th (travel) & Saturday 5th December
Illustrated Lecture, Exhibition, 2 Workshops and Performance for
Jazz Study Day for U3A at Martletts Centre, Sussex, with Quartet.
93

Saturday 13th December
Last session of Practical Workshops in Swing Band 2-4pm Sundays.
18

 

Sessions will recommence January 2010